Land registration districts

New Zealand is divided into 12 land registration districts, as set out in the Land Transfer Act 1952.

All land records are organised according to those districts. When ordering a copy of a record, it helps to be able to name the district it is located in.

The map here shows the 12 districts. You can view and download much more detailed maps, including of the land district boundaries, through the digital maps available on the LINZ Data Service.

Land Districts