Public Consultation Closed for NZGB Place Name Proposals

1 December 2010

The recent New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (NZGB) naming proposals, notified on 26 August 2010, closed for public submission on 30 September and 30 November 2010.

As at noon on 1 December 2010, the following submissions had been made. Please note that these numbers are subject to final confirmation by the Board Secretary.

Place Name ProposalObjectingSupportingComments OnlyTotal Submissions
Hillary Ridge53567116
Braun-Elwert Peak-6-6
Te Kōhua Peak342-36
St Albans1225
Te Awa Kairangi / Hutt River22-4
Te Motu Kairangi / Miramar Peninsula-2-2
Te Whetū Kairangi Ridge-2-2
Colonial Knob3--3
Tunupō Creek-3-3
Cumberfield Creek-4-4
Howlett Creek-3-3
Iron Gate Creek-3-3
Oxford Creek-3-3
Te Waikoropupū River-2-2
Tamaki Railway Station12-3
Maud Peak1--1

The Board's Secretariat will, in due course, analyse the submissions for consideration by the Board when it next meets in 2011. Further information on the submissions or the outcome of the proposals will be available after that meeting.

The LINZ website will have more information on the Board’s decisions as it becomes available.

Media enquiries:

The refreshed LINZ website will be here soon.

You’ll still be able to access the same information, but you’ll notice a change in the design and layout of the site.

Read more about the changes.