The Catlins


  • “The Catlins” is a locally used recorded name now formalised as the official geographic name with a bounded extent as published in the New Zealand Gazette on 4 February 2010, and in relevant newspapers.


South-eastern extremity of the South Island, NZTopo50 maps CF12–Gore, CF13–Clinton, CF14–Clydevale, CG11–Dacre, CG12–Wyndham, CG13–Chaslands, CG14–Owaka, CG15–Nugget Point, CH12–Waipapa Point, CH13–Curio Bay. Centred around coordinate 1315000mE, 4850000mN. Defined generally as being bounded by the coastline from Clutha River/Mata-Au in the north to Mataura River at Fortrose in the south. The inland boundary includes headwaters and catchments of rivers and streams in the area that flows to the coast, and includes Catlins Conservation Park. See a map detailing the boundary of 'The Catlins'.


Read the Report to the Minister for Land Information on the Proposal to Assign ‘The Catlins’ (PDF 5.5MB).

Read The Catlins place name report PDF 2.0MB (also available in HTML), which was considered by the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (NZGB) at its meetings of 27 March and 16 September 2009. The report includes a printable map.


The consultation period closed 5pm 17 August 2009.


View in a larger map

The refreshed LINZ website will be here soon.

You’ll still be able to access the same information, but you’ll notice a change in the design and layout of the site.

Read more about the changes.