Recent NZGB Decisions

New Zealand Geographic Board logo.

The New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (NZGB) meets regularly to assign, approve, alter, discontinue, approve, or validate the use of names for geographic features (eg. place names), undersea features and Crown protected areas in New Zealand, its offshore islands and its continental shelf and the Ross Sea region of Antarctica.

All decisions are published in the New Zealand Gazette. You can view NZGB Gazetted Notices online or review the most recent determinations below.

If you are looking for names currently open for public consulation, please go to the list of current place name proposals.

NZGB place name determinations

  • 3 July 2014 (Tapuika Treaty of Waitangi Settlement) 
  • 12 June 2014 (Ngāti Rangiwewehi Treaty of Waitangi Settlement)
  • 5 June 2014 (Official Geographic, Proposal, Discontinued, Undersea, Official Antarctica)
  • 12 December 2013 (Minister's Determiniations, Official NZ)
  • 14 November 2013 (Proposals, Approved, Discontinued, Undersea)
  • 17 October 2013 (Minister's Determination for North Island, Te Ika-a-Māui, South Island and Te Waipounamu, and Board Decision for Paekākāriki Hill)
  • 3 October 2013 (Official Antarctic)
  • 29 August 2013 (Proposal, Official Undersea, Official Antarctic, Discontinued)
  • 25 July 2013 (Waitaha and Ngāti Whātua o Kaipara Treaty of Waitangi Settlement) 
  • 20 June 2013 (Minister’s Determinations, Official NZ)