New Zealand tertiary GIS papers, programmes and contacts

Find New Zealand tertiary GIS papers, programmes and contacts.

InstituteGIS papers / programmesInstitution GIS contact
University of Auckland

Geographic Information Science - Introductory material

Links to undergraduate GIS papers below:

GEOG 103/103G: Mapping our World

GEOG 210: Introduction to GIS and Spatial Thinking

GEOG 317: Remote Sensing and GIS

GEOG 318: GIS Principles and Practice

Geographic Information Science courses - Postgraduate

Associate Professor Jay Gao
+64 9 923 5184
jg.gao@auckland.ac.nz

Auckland University of Technology

Geospatial Science: Bachelor of Science - includes links to individual papers

Postgraduate Diploma in Geographic Information Science

Master of Geographic Information Science

Dr Barbara Breen
+64 9 921 9999 Ext 8837
barbara.breen@aut.ac.nz

University of Waikato

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) - links to undergraduate and postgraduate options, including the GIS Specialisation for the Master of Social Science and the Master of Information Technology

Dr Lars Brabyn
+64 7 856 2889
larsb@waikato.ac.nz

Massey University

Postgraduate Diploma in Arts (Geographic Information Systems) (PGDipArts(GIS))

Geoinformatics (Massey Auckland campus)

GIS and Remote Sensing

Advanced Remote Sensing

Environmental Remote Sensing

Applied Remote Sensing

Dr John Lowry
+64 6 951 6520
j.lowry@massey.ac.nz

Dr Kristin Stock (for Geoinformatics paper)
+64 9 414 0800 ext: 43719
k.stock@massey.ac.nz

Assoc Prof Jonathan Procter (for Remote Sensing papers)
+64 6 3569099 ext: 84857
j.n.procter@massey.ac.nz

Victoria University of Wellington

Geographic Information Science (GIS) - links to undergraduate and postgraduate options

MAOR203 Mapping Whenua

Mairead de Roiste
+64 4 463 643
mairead.deroiste@vuw.ac.nz

Ocean Mercier
Te Kawa a Māui/School of Māori Studies
Ocean.mercier@vuw.ac.nz

University of Canterbury

Geographic Information Science at the University of Canterbury - links to undergraduate options

Geographic Information Science - links postgraduate options

Prof Simon Kingham
+64 3 364 2893
simon.kingham@canterbury.ac.nz

Lincoln University

Bachelor of Environment and Society (with GIS and Environmental Informatics major)

Links to undergraduate GIS papers below:

ERST 202: Environmental Analysis with Geographic Information Systems

ERST 310: GIS and Applications in Natural Resource Analysis

Links to postgraduate GIS papers below:

ERST606 - Advanced GIS A

ERST607 - Advanced GIS B

Crile Doscher
+64 3 4230426
crile.doscher@lincoln.ac.nz

University of Otago

Bachelor of Applied Science (BAppSc) majoring in GIS

Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Science (PGDipAppSci) GIS

Master of Applied Science (MAppSc) GIS

Research Master of Science (MSc) GIS

Dr Antoni Moore
+64 3 479 7589
tony.moore@otago.ac.nz

NorthTec, Whangarei

Diploma in Conservation and Environmental Management - GIS course is included in this qualification

BSc of Applied Science (Biodiversity Management) - Applied GIS course is included in this qualification

Tanya Cook
tcook@northtec.ac.nz

Unitec, Auckland

Geographic Information Systems (NSCI6743)

Applied Geographic Information Systems (NSCI7736)

These courses are taken in the Bachelor of Applied Science (Biodiversity Management) and also by students of other programmes, mainly the National Diploma in Surveying

Dr Glenn Aguilar
+64 9 815-4321 Ext 7019
gaguilar@unitec.ac.nz

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology, Tauranga

BSc (Biological Sciences) - this University of Waikato degree with a GIS paper option is taught by Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology staff in Tauranga (typically to students who have completed two year Level 6 Diplomas in Marine Studies or Environmental Management who then complete a 3rd year for the Degree option)

Caroline Schweder-Goad
+64 7 5578642
caroline.schweder@toiohomai.ac.nz

Southern Institute of Technology, Invercargill

Bachelor of Environmental Management - GIS course is included in this qualification

Christine Liang
+64 03 2112699 Ext 8759
christine.liang@sit.ac.nz

Te Whare Wananga o Awanuiarangi, Whakatane

Bachelor of Environment Studies - GIS paper is included in this qualification

Note: the Bachelor of Environment Studies is not being offered as a study option in 2017

Gareth Boyt
0508 926264
gareth.boyt@wananga.ac.nz

Last Updated: 10 October 2018