We administer the following Acts and other legislation relating to New Zealand's land and seabed.

Legislation we administer

You can read a full description of each Act on the New Zealand Legislation website.

Prior to 12 November 2018, the Land Transfer Act 1952 and Land Transfer (Computer Registers and Electronic Lodgement) Amendment Act 2002 were in force. Toitū Te Whenua also administered those Acts.

Other legislation

Toitū Te Whenua also has functions under a number of other Acts. These include:

Electoral boundaries

Unit titles

  • Unit Titles Act 2010 (partially administered by Toitū Te Whenua, with Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment)

Land acquisition and network utility operators

Land disposal

The Chief Executive has statutory functions under the Public Works Act relating to the disposal of surplus land. This disposal function can arise for land held by other agencies under various Acts such as:

Māori land

Overseas investment


Statutory officers

The four statutory officers are:

  • Commissioner of Crown Lands
  • Registrar-General of Land
  • Surveyor-General (also Chairperson of the New Zealand Geographic Board)
  • Valuer-General (also Chairperson of the Valuers Registration Board).

The Registrar-General of Land and the Surveyor-General have special responsibilities relating to land transactions under more than 50 statutes.


Last Updated: 18 May 2021