13 proposals for features on Banks Peninsula

Note: the dual names would be used together as one name

Proposed place nameCurrent place name
Aua / King Billy IslandKing Billy Island
Kaitangata / Mansons PeninsulaMansons Peninsula
Ōmawete / Coopers KnobCoopers Knob
Ōrongomai / Cass PeakCass Peak
Pukeatua / Dyers PassDyers Pass
Tapuwaeharuru / Evans PassEvans Pass
Te Ahi-a-TamateaRāpaki Rock (local name)
Te Heru-o-Kahukura / SugarloafSugarloaf
Te Moenga-o-Wheke / The TorsThe Tors
Te Piaka / Adderley HeadAdderley Head
Te Rāpaki-o-Te-RakiwhakaputaRapaki (locality)
Te Tihi-o-Kahukura / Castle RockTihiokahukura/Castle Rock
Te Upoko-o-Kurī / Witch HillWitch Hill

Why are these changes being proposed?

To restore the features’ original Māori names and retain the existing names, which have been in long term use, if they exist.


  • NZGB proposal report for 14 features on Banks Peninsula (PDF 3MB) – The NZGB considered this proposal report to alter the location of one geographic feature and the names of 13 geographic features on Banks Peninsula at its meeting on 18 October 2019. Some of the recommendations are edited to reflect the NZGB’s decisions. Thirteen of the proposals are notified for one month so that the public can make submissions supporting or objecting to the proposed names changes. 

See the File attachments section below for the report that the NZGB considered.


See the File attachments section below for the media release for this proposal.

Make a submission

Consultation occurred between 20 November 2019 and 20 December 2019. Submissions are now closed for these proposals.