Find out more about the Crown’s red zoning process for the flatlands and Port Hills following the 2010-2011 Canterbury earthquakes.

The Christchurch residential red zones include land in Brooklands, along the Ōtākaro Avon River Corridor, Southshore, South New Brighton and in the Port Hills.

View land zones:

Canterbury Maps

View red zone fly-over videos:

Flatland residential red zones

These areas include properties in Brooklands, Southshore and South New Brighton, and the Ōtākaro Avon River Corridor. Flatland areas were zoned red where the land was so badly earthquake-damaged it was unlikely it could be built on over the short to medium term.

Most of the built structures on Crown-owned properties in the residential red zones have already been cleared. From 1 July 2020, Christchurch City Council manages the flatland area so please contact them with any management queries:

Contact Christchurch City Council [link]

Find out more about short-term (transitional) use of the RRZ flatlands:

Projects and events in the red zone

Port Hills residential red zones

This area has been zoned red because of the risk to life posed by rock fall and/or cliff collapse, and land slips.

Because of the multiple natural hazards, these are dangerous areas for the general public and any access is by written permission only. 


Last Updated: 1 July 2020