NZGB to assign, alter and discontinue geographic names

27 February 2015

The New Zealand Geographic Board (NZGB) Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa yesterday announced the assigning, alteration or discontinuation of 32 geographic names around the country.

Assigned and altered geographic names:

Maungaharuru-Tangitū Hapū Treaty of Waitangi Settlement 2014:

  • Hinekatorangi Wetlands;
  • Motu-o-Rūrū (historic site);
  • Ngāmoerangi (historic site);
  • Panepaoa (historic site);
  • Punakērua Beach;
  • Rangiātaahua (historic site);
  • Tauwhare Papauma (historic site);
  • Te Areare (historic site);
  • Te Rae-o-Tangoio (historic site);
  • Te Waka-o-Ngārangikataka Ridge;
  • Tiwhanui (historic site);
  • Waipātiki Beach;
  • Ahu-o-te-Atua (peak) – alteration from Ahuateatea (official name);
  • Lake Te Pōhue – alteration from Lake Pohue (recorded name);
  • Lake Tūtira – alteration from Lake Tutira (recorded name);
  • Mangakōpikopiko Stream – alteration from Mangapikopiko Stream (recorded name);
  • Pākuratahi Stream – alteration from Pakuratahi Stream (recorded name);
  • Pūrahoitangihia (hill) – alteration from Purahotangihia (recorded name);
  • Te Ngarue Stream – alteration from Te Ngaru Stream (recorded name);
  • Te Uku Bluff – alteration from Whirinaki Bluff (official name);
  • Waipātiki Stream – alteration from Whirinaki Bluff (recorded name);
  • Whakaari (point) – recorded name made official.
Discontinued Crown Protected Area Names

Ngāti Hauā Treaty of Waitangi Settlement 2014:

  • Gordon Gow Scenic Reserve;
  • Gudex Memorial Park Historic Reserve;
  • Maungakawa Scenic Reserve.

Ngāti Koroki Kahukura Treaty of Waitangi Settlement 2014:

  • Horahora Gorge Scenic Reserve;
  • Maungatautari Mountain Scenic Reserve;
  • Te Reti Road Scenic Reserve .

Visit the LINZ website for information about these names, general place naming and the New Zealand Geographic Board.

Media enquiries

Email: or phone: 027 566 5251