28 May 2015

The New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (NZGB) has today opened public consultation on 12 proposals to assign or alter names of geographic and undersea features around the country.


  • Taraire Creek – to an unnamed stream in South Auckland.
  • East Pier Point – to an unnamed coastal point in Napier.
  • Macaskill Lakes – to two lakes in Upper Hutt currently known as Stuart Macaskill Lakes, Te Marua Lakes or Twin Lakes.
  • Remutaka Pass – to an unnamed pass between the Hutt Valley and the Wairarapa at the summit of State Highway 2, which separates Rimutaka Range from Tararua Range.
  • Whairepo Lagoon – to a locally-named lagoon known as Frank Kitts Lagoon, Frank Kitts Park Lagoon, Aotea Lagoon.

Alter existing official, recorded or commonly-used names

  • Dagg Terrace – alteration from Dagg Basin in Fiordland.
  • Hodges Creek – alteration from Hodge Creek in Kahurangi National Park.
  • Hodges Stream – alteration from Hodge Creek in Kahurangi National Park.
  • Mackays Crossing – alteration from MacKays Crossing north of Wellington.
  • Passchendaele Ridge – spelling correction from Paschendale Ridge above Fox Glacier/Te Moeka o Tuawe.
  • Whanganui District – spelling correction from Wanganui District.
  • Winton Burn – spelling correction from Windon Burn near Te Anau.

The consultation periods for these names are noted on the LINZ webpage, concluding on either 3 July or 28 August 2015.

Anyone can make a submission either in support of, or objecting to, these proposals.

Make a submission.

Submissions can be made in writing to the Secretary for the New Zealand Geographic Board using one of the following methods:

Other decisions

In addition to the 12 name proposals being consulted on, final decisions on 149 geographic names and 24 undersea names, become official on 28 May.  Two undersea feature names were discontinued.

For information about these names, general place naming and the New Zealand Geographic Board see the related links below.

Media enquiries

Email: media@linz.govt.nz or phone: 027 566 5251