Dual place names for Banks Peninsula announced

8 July 2020

Minister for Land Information Hon. Eugenie Sage announced 13 official place names for Banks Peninsula at Rāpaki Marae yesterday, 11 of which are to be dual named.

“I am pleased to confirm the proposals from Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke (Rāpaki Rūnanga) to Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa | the New Zealand Geographic Board to restore original Māori names and reflect Māori history in the area,” said Eugenie Sage.

“Māori place names now sit alongside well-known and established place names around Lyttelton Harbour/Whakaraupō including those of many iconic features along the skyline.

“Restoring traditional Rāpaki place names alongside English place names recognises the history and significance of these places,” said Eugenie Sage.

Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa | the New Zealand Geographic Board will publish the new official place names in the New Zealand Gazette today.

Read the Minister’s media statement

List of newly official place names for Banks Peninsula

Official NameFormer Name
Aua / King Billy IslandKing Billy Island
Kaitangata / Mansons PeninsulaMansons Peninsula
Ōmawete / Coopers KnobCoopers Knob
Ōrongomai / Cass PeakCass Peak
Pukeatua / Dyers PassDyers Pass
Tapuwaeharuru / Evans PassEvans Pass
Te Ahi-a-TamateaRapaki Rock
Te Heru-o-Kahukura / SugarloafSugarloaf
Te Moenga-o-Wheke / The TorsThe Tors
Te Piaka / Adderley HeadAdderley Head
Te Tihi-o-Kahukura / Castle RockTihiokahukura / Castle Rock
Te Rāpaki-o-Te RakiwhakaputaRapaki
Te Upoko-o-Kurī / Witch HillWitch Hill

Media enquiries

Email: media@linz.govt.nz or phone: 027 566 5251