Legislation governing the New Zealand Geographic Board.

The New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008 provides a framework for the powers, functions and duties of the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (NZGB). In carrying out its activities, the NZGB must also operate within the guidance of other legislation.

New Zealand Boundaries Act 1863

The New Zealand Boundaries Act 1863 is an imperial Act that defines the scope of the ‘colony’ of New Zealand. This Act describes New Zealand as laying between longitudes 162° East and 173° West, and latitudes 33° South and 53° South.

Antarctica (Environmental Protection) Act 1994

The Antarctica (Environmental Protection) Act 1994 provides for comprehensive protection of the Antarctic environment and recognises Antarctica as a natural reserve devoted to peace and science. The Act also implements the Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty.

Territorial Sea, Contiguous Zone and Exclusive Economic Zone Act 1977 

The Territorial Sea, Contiguous Zone and Exclusive Economic Zone Act 1977 defines the territorial sea and the contiguous zone of New Zealand, and establishes an exclusive economic zone around New Zealand adjacent to the territorial sea. It makes possible New Zealand’s sovereign right to make provision for the exploration and exploitation, and conservation and management of the resources of the zone, and for matters connected with those purposes, including place naming within New Zealand's 12 nautical mile territorial limit.

Continental Shelf Act 1964

The Continental Shelf Act 1964 provides for the exploration and exploitation of the continental shelf of New Zealand and matters connected with that purpose.

Geographical Indications (Wine and Spirits) Registration Act 2006

The Geographical Indications (Wine and Spirits) Registration Act 2006 provides for the registration and protection of geographical indications for wine and spirits.

Treaty of Waitangi settlements

Since 1998 a number of completed Treaty of Waitangi settlements have included place names as part of the cultural redress.

View the Te Arawhiti - the Office for Māori Crown Relations settlements

Last Updated: 11 March 2019