Now official

Published in the New Zealand Gazette on 8 July 2020

Official geographic nameAltered from
Aua / King Billy IslandKing Billy Island
Kaitangata / Mansons PeninsulaMansons Peninsula
Ōmawete / Coopers KnobCoopers Knob
Ōrongomai / Cass PeakCass Peak
Pukeatua / Dyers PassDyers Pass
Tapuwaeharuru / Evans PassEvans Pass
Te Ahi-a-TamateaRāpaki Rock (local name)
Te Heru-o-Kahukura / SugarloafSugarloaf
Te Moenga-o-Wheke / The TorsThe Tors
Te Piaka / Adderley HeadAdderley Head
Te Rāpaki-o-Te RakiwhakaputaRapaki (locality)
Te Tihi-o-Kahukura / Castle RockTihiokahukura/Castle Rock
Te Upoko-o-Kurī / Witch HillWitch Hill

A further name, Rāpaki Bay was approved as official for consistency, standardised from the existing recorded name Rapaki Bay.

Approved official geographic nameGeographic feature typeMap and grid reference
Rāpaki BayBayNZTopo50-BX24 744715



See the File attachments section below for the media release for this proposal.