• Official alternative geographic name.
  • Published in the New Zealand Gazette on 17 October 2013.


  • The northern of the two main islands of New Zealand, centred around NZTM 1865000E, 5674000N. Official alternative geographic name is Te Ika-a-Māui.


The NZGB’s Report to the Minister (PDF 15.1MB) is also available.
Copies of submissions are attached below.
The Submission Report (PDF 838MB) is also available, considered by the NZGB at its meeting in July 2013.

You can read the combined Proposal Reports (PDF 61KB (PDF 61KB)PDF 17KB (PDF 18KB), PDF 176KB (PDF 176KB)), which were considered by the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (NZGB) at its meeting in August 2010, April 2011 and March 2013.



View NZGB Place names 4 April 2013 in a larger map