Final Determination on an Official Geographic Name, New and altered official geographic and Crown protected area name for Treaty of Waitangi Settlement

Gazetted on 13 March 2019

Notice of New and Altered Geographic Names for Ngāti Tūwharetoa Claims Settlement Act 2018


New or Altered Official Geographic Name

Geographic Feature Type


Former Name and Status

Kōtukutuku Bay


A very small bay at the southern end of Western Bay in Lake Taupo (Taupomoana), into which Kōtukutuku Stream flows. NZTopo50-BG35 393021.

Cherry Bay


Kōtukutuku Stream


A stream that flows generally northeast for approximately 4km into Kōtukutuku Bay, within Western Bay in Lake Taupo (Taupomoana). NZTopo50-BG35 363004 to 393020.

Kotukutuku Stream




An island in Waikato River approximately 1km northeast of Taupo CBD. NZTopo50-BG36 682144.

Cherry Island

(local use)

Ōtaiātoa Bay


A bay on the southeast shore of Lake Taupo (Taupomoana) with Mission Point marking its western extremity. NZTopo50-BH36 535897 to 557910.

Mission Bay


Ōtaiātoa Bay Recreation Reserve

Recreation Reserve

A Crown protected area at the eastern end of Rawhira Road in Waitetoko. Centred at NZTopo50-BH36 548896.

Mission Bay Recreation Reserve

(official by New Zealand Gazette 28 Jun 1984, no. 112, p. 2368)

Pākā Bay


A bay on the southeast shore of Lake Taupo (Taupomoana) that extends generally northeast from Toki Point. NZTopo50-BH36 595928 to 610940.

Halletts Bay (Hamuria)


Te Mako Headland


A distinctive headland on the western shores of Lake Taupo (Taupomoana) at the southern extremity of Western Bay. NZTopo50-BG35 425036.


Te Poporo / Bulli Point


A point on the southeast shore of Lake Taupo (Taupomoana) between Motutere Point to the west and Jellicoe Point to the east. NZTopo50-BH36 574921.

Bulli Point




A very small island in Waikato River less than 100m north of Motutāhae. NZTopo50-BG36 681146 

Rat Island

(local use)

Notice of a Final Determination to Assign a Geographic Name


Official Geographic Name

Geographic Feature Type




A suburb of Auckland, approximately 6km west-southwest of the CBD. Bounded by New Windsor to the west, Mount Roskill to the south, and Sandringham to the north. Centred on NZTopo50-BA31 540144. The extent is depicted at Assigning an existing recorded name as official.



Last Updated: 13 March 2019