Māori and iwi
Last updated
Resource category
Marine and Coastal Area Register
Resource status

Recognition of customary marine title pursuant to section 111 of Ngā Rohe Moana o Ngā Hapū o Ngāti Porou Act 2019

Crown recognition document for ngā rohe moana

Area covered

Area of Whangaokeno to Waiapu River, between Whangaokeno and Ōnepoto along the East Coast


  • Te Whānau a Takimoana
  • Te Whānau a Tapuhi
  • Te Whānau a Te Uruahi
  • Te Whānau a Tinatoka
  • Te Whānau a Rerewa
  • Ngāti Hokopu
  • Te Whānau a Rakaimataura
  • Ngāti Putaanga
  • Ngāti Nua
  • Te Whānau a Hinepare
  • Te Whānau a Ngāi Tāne
  • Te Whānau a Karuai
  • Te Whānau a Hinerupe ki Waiapu

Represented by Whangaokena ki Onepoto Takutai Kaitiaki Trust

Effective date

1 February 2021

Relevant schedule of the Order in Council

Schedule 2 Ngā Rohe Moana o Ngā Hapū o Ngāti Porou (Recognition of Customary Marine Title) Order 2020


These documents have been published as part of the Marine and Coastal Areas Register.