

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Amendment Regulations for LINZ Survey and Title Services Fees

Portfolio Land Information

On 23 September 2021, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **noted** that on 9 June 2021, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV) confirmed decisions on new fees for Toitū Te Whenua Land Information New Zealand (LINZ) survey and title services [DEV-21-MIN-0127];
- 2 **noted** that DEV authorised the Minister for Land Information to make decisions on any further minor or technical issues required to implement the new survey and title fees [DEV-21-MIN-0127];
- 3 **noted** that the Minister for Land Information has made a minor wording change to the annual fee for authenticating Landonline users;
- 4 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the:
 - 4.1 Land Information New Zealand (Fees and Charges) Amendment Regulations 2021 [PCO 23943/4.0];
 - 4.2 Land Transfer Amendment Regulations 2021 [PCO 23942/4.0];
 - 4.3 Cadastral Survey (Fees) Amendment Regulations 2021 [PCO 23944/6.0];
- 5 **noted** that the regulations in paragraph 4 will give effect to the decisions referred to in paragraphs 1, 2 and 3 above:
- 6 **noted** that the regulations come into force on 1 November 2021 for the license fees removal and digital certificate wording change, and 1 February 2022 for remaining fee changes.

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

Attendees: (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon David Parker Hon Poto Williams Hon Damien O'Connor Hon Stuart Nash Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Willie Jackson Hon Michael Wood Hon Kiri Allan Hon Dr David Clark Hon Ayesha Verrall Hon James Shaw Keiran McAnulty, MP (Senior Government Whip) Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG

PROACTIVE