

## Cabinet Legislation Committee

## Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

## **Crown Pastoral Land Reform Bill: Approval for Introduction**

Portfolio Land Information

On 30 June 2020, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

 $1 \qquad \qquad 1$ 

- 2 **noted** that the Bill amends the Crown Pastoral Land Act 1998 and the Land Act 1948 to:
  - 2.1 end tenure review a voluntary process that provides for land with significant conservation values to be removed from the lease and returned to full Crown ownership and management, and for land which has economic value to be freeholded and sold to the pastoral leaseholder;
  - 2.2 implement an outcomes-based approach that considers cumulative effects on the whole Crown pastoral land estate over time in place of the current process-based approach that delivers discrete decisions and actions;
  - 2.3 provide clearer, more transparent decision-making, stronger accountability, and more opportunity for public and leaseholder involvement;
  - 2.4 support evolving relationships between Māori and the Crown while recognising the relationship of Māori with their ancestral lands;
- approved for introduction the Crown Pastoral Land Reform Bill [PCO 21179/7.0], subject to the approval of the government caucuses and sufficient support in the House of Representatives;
- 4 agreed that the Bill be introduced as soon as possible;
- agreed that the government propose that the Bill be referred to the Environment Committee by 6 August 2020, for consideration by the Committee for up to six months.

Gerrard Carter Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

## LEGALLY PRIVILEGED : IN CONFIDENCE

LEG-20-MIN-0092

Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon David Parker

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon Eugenie Sage

Michael Wood MP (Senior Government Whip)

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG