The New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (NZGB) is made up of 10 members.

The Surveyor-General (a statutory officer within LINZ) is Chairperson (ex-officio) of the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (NZGB), which comprises nine other members appointed under the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008.

The NZGB's secretariat is located within LINZ and provides the NZGB with administrative support, research assistance and advice.

Members are nominated or recommended by:

Backgrounds for each of the following members are below:

  • Anselm Haanen, Surveyor-General, Chairperson
    Anselm is a licensed cadastral surveyor, with a Master of Surveying from Otago University. His 40 year career with LINZ and its predecessor departments has provided opportunities in geospatial research and development, setting surveying and addressing standards, establishing electoral boundaries as a member of the Representation Commission, and providing technical advice on LINZ’s future Automated Survey and Titles System.  Anselm has managed the regulatory work of the Office of the Surveyor-General for the national geodetic and cadastral survey systems since 2014.
  • David Barnes – nominated by the New Zealand Federated Mountain Clubs Inc (FMC)
    David, an avid tramper and armchair mountaineer, has been a member of FMC-affiliated clubs for many years. He was a search and rescue volunteer for 26 years and a mountain safety instructor for 13 years. He has an in depth knowledge of the exploration and recreational history of New Zealand’s back country, as well as a keen interest in Antarctic history and exploration. David currently works as Technical Specialist for the Accident Compensation Corporation in Lower Hutt.
  • Jenni Vernon – nominated by the Minister for Land Information
    Jenni is a trained primary school teacher, holds a Masters in Environmental Management, and is an accredited Resource Management Act Hearings Commissioner. Jenni served 12 years on the Waikato Regional Council, holding the position of Chair from 2004-2007. Jenni formerly lead the Strategic Planning and Resource Management team at Waikato District Council.
  • Rikirangi Gage – nominated by the Minister of Māori Affairs
    Rikirangi has skills and experience in governance, negotiation and ocean policy. He is Chief Executive of Te Rūnanga o Te Whānau-a-Apanui, a member of the Māori Television Board and a Director of Te Ohu Kaimoana. He was previously on the Board of Te Papa, and represented the Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission at the Convention on Biological Diversity in Argentina.
  • Professor Michael Roche – nominated by the New Zealand Geographical Society
    Michael is an historical geographer with over 30 years research and writing experience mainly related to the cultural landscapes of rural New Zealand. He is a Life Member of the New Zealand Geographical Society, currently one of the editors of the New Zealand Geographer, an editorial Board member of the New Zealand Geographical Society and is Chair of the New Zealand International Geographical Union Committee. Michael is a Professor of Geography at Massey University.
  • Matanuku Mahuika – nominated by the Minister of Māori Affairs
    Matanuku is a lawyer who has been in corporate and private practice since 1991. Prior to establishing Kahui Legal, Matanuku was a partner at Walters Williams & Co and in-house counsel at the Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission. He also worked for a number of years at Simpson Grierson, one of New Zealand’s large commercial law firms.
    Matanuku has a wide range of experience acting for iwi and other Māori organisations. This has included acting on a wide range of commercial matters, Treaty of Waitangi settlements and the establishment of organisations to receive Treaty settlement and fisheries assets. He is the principal legal adviser for Ngāti Porou on foreshore and seabed issues and was one of Ngāti Porou’s Treaty settlement negotiators.
    Matanuku is a former President of the Māori Law Society. He is a former Chairman of Sealord – one of New Zealand’s largest fishing companies - and is the current Chairman of the Ngati Porou Holding Company Limited - the company that oversees Ngāti Porou’s commercial interests. He is also a director on the New Zealand Merino Company and the Eastland Group of companies.
  • Adam Greenland – National Hydrographer at LINZ
    Adam is a member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. He holds a Merchant Navy Deck Officer Certificate of Competency and a tertiary qualification in Hydrographic Surveying and Mapping Sciences. He heads the delegation that represents New Zealand on the International Hydrographic Organisation (IHO) Hydrographic Commission of Antarctica and the South West Pacific Regional Hydrographic Commission. Adam is also a Board member of the International Board of Standards of Competence.
  • Associate Professor Merata Kawharu, NZOM – nominated by the Minister for Land Information
    Merata has written extensively on cultural heritage, museum governance and Māori development, the Treaty of Waitangi, land use and tenure, and the Resource Management Act. She has been a member of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust and its Māori Heritage Council, and has worked as a consultant to UNESCO’s World Heritage Centre in Paris. Merata was awarded an NZOM for services to Māori education. She is currently the Director of the James Henare Māori Research Centre at Auckland University.
  • Adrienne Staples - nominated by Local Government New Zealand
    Adrienne has a strong local government background having just completed 15 years with the South Wairarapa District Council. She commenced her local government career in 2001 serving a term as Chair of the Featherston Community Board. This was followed by four terms as Mayor of the South Wairarapa District, standing down from the role in 2016. During that time she served nine years on the National Council of Local Government New Zealand. Adrienne is currently the Wairarapa representative on the Greater Wellington Regional Council and a member of the Wairarapa District Health Board.
  • Paulette Tamati-Elliffe - nominated by Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu
Last Updated: 9 December 2019