What property does the Crown own?

Toitū Te Whenua manages around 2 million hectares of Crown-owned land. We manage this ‘Crown estate’ to deliver the greatest benefits to all New Zealanders, both for today and in future.

The Crown estate includes:

  • land held for Treaty settlements
  • the beds of lakes and rivers
  • forest land
  • high country pastoral land in the South Island
  • residential and commercial properties, closed schools, courthouses and prisons.

View our Crown land and property data.

Caring for the Crown estate

We do a wide range of work on the Crown estate, such as: