Published date

The Minister for Land Information, Hon Damien O’Connor has reappointed four current members to the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa.

Paulette Tamati-Elliffe, Shaun Barnett, Jenni Vernon, and Professor Merata Kawharu have been appointed for a further three years.

Reporting to the Minister for Land Information, the Board is responsible for place naming within New Zealand, its territorial waters, and Antarctica. It has 10 members including Chairperson, Surveyor-General Anselm Haanen. 

The Board Secretariat sits within Toitū Te Whenua Land Information New Zealand and provides the Board with administrative support, research assistance and advice. Toitū Te Whenua administers the nomination and appointment process.

Mr Haanen has welcomed the reappointments, which provide valuable continuity. Collectively the Board has a wide range of skills and experience, with backgrounds in local government, geography, back country, hydrography, academia and iwi relationships.

More information on the Board and profiles of Board members


Media contact