Exclusive Economic Zone & continental shelf boundaries between New Zealand & Australia

New Zealand and Australia have rights over areas of ocean called their Exclusive Economic Zones (EEZ). The continental shelf is the underwater landmass that extends beyond both countries.

This map shows the boundaries of both the EEZ and the continental shelf. There are two parts to the EEZ boundaries:

  • in the north, dividing Australia and New Zealand EEZs and continental shelf in the region extending from Lord Howe Rise, past Lord Howe and Norfolk Islands to Three Kings Ridge
  • in the south, separating the EEZs and continental shelves between Macquarie Island and Campbell and Auckland Islands.
New Zealand - Australia maritime boundary