Acts and other legislation that relate to New Zealand's land and seabed.

Legislation we administer

You can read a full description of each Act on the New Zealand Legislation website.

Prior to 12 November 2018, the Land Transfer Act 1952 and Land Transfer (Computer Registers and Electronic Lodgement) Amendment Act 2002 were in force. Toitū Te Whenua also administered those Acts.

Other legislation

Toitū Te Whenua has functions under a number of other Acts. These include:

Electoral boundaries

Unit titles

  • Unit Titles Act 2010 (partially administered by Toitū Te Whenua, with the Ministry of Justice and Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment)

Land acquisition and network utility operators

Land disposal

The Chief Executive of Toitū Te Whenua has statutory functions under the Public Works Act relating to the disposal of surplus land. This disposal function can arise for land held by other agencies under various Acts such as:

Māori land

Overseas investment


Statutory officers

The 4 statutory officers are:

The Registrar-General of Land and the Surveyor-General have special responsibilities relating to land transactions under more than 50 statutes.