High Country Advisory Group

The High Country Advisory Group (HCAG) was established in 2018 to enable a range of stakeholders, representing farming, environmental and iwi interests, to provide advice to LINZ and the Commissioner of Crown Lands on the management of Crown pastoral land in the South Island high country.

The group is a non-statutory body that meets every four months to discuss high country land management issues.

Current members of the HCAG

  • Tom Pinckney
  • Kerry Harmer
  • Donna Field
  • Ray Grubb
  • Shay Schlaepfer
  • Professor Bill Lee
  • Matthew Tayler 

These members are active until mid-April 2024. 

Seeking nominations 

Nominations are now open for the HCAG and close on Monday 22 April 2024.

We are seeking expressions of interest from people with skills and knowledge in the following areas:

  • Crown pastoral lease management
  • Land Act and Crown Pastoral Land Act 1998
  • high country farming
  • tikanga Māori
  • biosecurity
  • biodiversity or environmental sustainability
  • other industry in the high country
  • local government, or
  • public use of Crown land.

Appointments, including any reappointments, are for a period of 18 months or three years, at the discretion of the LINZ Chief Executive.

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu holds a permanent position on the group, and its representative for the current term is Matthew Matahaere.

To apply email cphcag@linz.govt.nz, providing a cover letter and CV setting out your experience, skills, and knowledge.