Geospatial Capability Committee

Vision, goals and membership details of the Geospatial Capability Committee (GCC).

Our vision

An Aotearoa New Zealand with the capability to reach its geospatial potential.

Our goals

With others in the geospatial community, we are working towards this vision by achieving the following goals:

  • Geospatial information use, analysis and management, and the development of related services is seen as a legitimate professional career by career guidance personnel
  • Senior executives across a range of industries believe that geospatial skills add considerable value to their business outcomes
  • Geospatial no longer needs to be recognised as an ‘in-demand skill shortage’ by Immigration NZ
  • Young geospatial professionals are supported in their careers, with entry into the profession through a variety of options, including school leaver, internships, or job applications
  • A wide variety of local, educational and online geospatial courses which also support geospatial as a component of wider disciplines (e.g. planning, environmental studies, management), and industry and educational institution courses are integrated and aligned
  • School students are introduced to geospatial opportunities as part of their formal education, with teachers being trained in geospatial awareness
  • Increasing the percentage of women in more senior geospatial roles
  • Ensure effective capability pathways for Māori participation in the geospatial industry through high-quality education opportunities.

Our members

Member Organisation / Role Contact More info
Aaria Dobson-Waitere Te Kāhui Manu Hokai /
Māori GIS Association representative
aaria.ripeka@gmail.com  
Josiah Millar NZ Emerging Spatial Professionals representative josiah.millar@pg.canterbury.ac.nz  
Mairead de Roiste Victoria University of Wellington /
Tertiary representative
Mairead.deRoiste@vuw.ac.nz Interview
Geoff O’Malley Toitū Te Whenua Land Information New Zealand / GCC chair gomalley@linz.govt.nz Interview
Jasmin Callosa-Tarr Survey & Spatial NZ / Jacobs /
Spatial Stream representative
jasmin.callosa-tarr@jacobs.com Interview
Sean Audain Wellington City Council /
Local Government Geospatial Alliance representative
sean.audain@wcc.govt.nz  
Chris Morris Abley/LocationTech Capability representative chris.morris@abley.com  
Adrian Patchett Stats NZ adrian.patchett@stats.govt.nz  

Corresponding members

Member Organisation / Role Contact More info
Nathan Heazlewood Eagle Technology /
Corresponding member (Facebook)
nathan_heazlewood@eagle.co.nz  
Duane Wilkins Geospatial Consultant for Ngā Poutama Matawhenua | Practical Māori GIS Mapping Wānanga webinar series
/ Corresponding member (Facebook)
duane.wilkins@gmail.com Interview
John Lowry Senior Lecturer, Massey University /
Corresponding member (Facebook)
j.lowry@massey.ac.nz

Contact us

Email growgisnz@linz.govt.nz

For geospatial capability news and events follow us at facebook.com/growgisnz