Find New Zealand tertiary GIS papers, programmes and contacts.

InstituteGIS papers / programmesInstitution GIS contact
University of Auckland

Geographic Information Science - Introductory material

Links to undergraduate GIS papers below:

Geographic Information Science - Undergraduate

Geographic Information Science courses - Postgraduate

Katarzyna Sila-Nowicka
+64 9 9235930
katarzyna.sila-nowicka@auckland.ac.nz

Auckland University of Technology

Geospatial Science: Bachelor of Science - includes links to individual papers

Postgraduate Diploma in Geographic Information Science

Master of Geographic Information Science

Dr Barbara Breen
+64 9 921 9999 Ext 8837
barbara.breen@aut.ac.nz

University of Waikato

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) - links to undergraduate and postgraduate options, including the GIS Specialisation for the Master of Social Science and the Master of Information Technology

GEOGY228: Introduction to Geographical Information Systems and Big Data

GEOGY328: Geographical Information Systems 

ENVPL309: Urban Spatial Analysis

GEOGY538: Automated Spatial Analysis using GIS

GEOGY558: Applied GIS for Research and Planning

Dr Lars Brabyn
+64 7 856 2889
larsb@waikato.ac.nz

Massey University

Undergraduate courses:

233.214 GIS and Spatial Statistics (15 credits)

233.314 Remote Sensing and Earth Observation (15 credits)

145.202 Working with Geographic Data (15 credits)

145.300 Cartography and Data Visualisation (15 credits)

Postgraduate courses:

Postgraduate Diploma in Arts (Geospatial Science)

145.739 GIS Principles and Applications (30 credits)

145.740 GIS Programming and Practice (30 credits)

233.712 Environmental Geographic Information Systems (15 credits)

233.713 Environmental Remote Sensing (15 credits)

158.740 Location Systems:Spatial Databases, Tools and Applications (15 credits)

158.741 Location Data:Mapping, Analysis and Visualisation (15 credits)

Dr John Lowry (for info on PGDip)
+64 6 951 6520
j.lowry@massey.ac.nz

Dr Kristin Stock (for Geoinformatics paper)
+64 9 414 0800 ext: 43719
k.stock@massey.ac.nz

Assoc Prof Jonathan Procter (for Remote Sensing papers)
+64 6 3569099 ext: 84857
j.n.procter@massey.ac.nz

Victoria University of Wellington

Geographic Information Science (GIS) - links to undergraduate and postgraduate options

MAOR203 Mapping Whenua

Prof David O’Sullivan
+64 4 4636492, david.osullivan@vuw.ac.nz

Mairead de Roiste
+64 4 463 643
mairead.deroiste@vuw.ac.nz

Ocean Mercier
Te Kawa a Māui/School of Māori Studies
Ocean.mercier@vuw.ac.nz

University of Canterbury

At the undergraduate level, students studying Geography will take courses in GIS which may include:

Introduction to Geographic Information Systems and Science

Remote Sensing for Geospatial Analysis

Geospatial Analysis in the Social and Environmental Sciences

Web GIS and Geoinformatics

Geospatial sensing using embedded computers

Geospatial Science in Forest Monitoring and Management

 

Postgraduate options include a Certificate, Diploma or Professional Masters in Geospatial Science and Technology

Students doing the Masters in Data Science can also take geospatial courses as part of their programme.

Prof Matthew Wilson
+64 3 369 2245
matthew.wilson@canterbury.ac.nz

Lincoln University

Bachelor of Environment and Society (with GIS and Environmental Informatics major)

Links to undergraduate GIS papers below:

ERST 202: Environmental Analysis with Geographic Information Systems

ERST 310: GIS and Applications in Natural Resource Analysis

Links to postgraduate GIS papers below:

ERST606 - Advanced GIS A

ERST607 - Advanced GIS B

Crile Doscher
+64 3 4230426
crile.doscher@lincoln.ac.nz

University of Otago

GIS Programme general information

Bachelor of Applied Science (BAppSc) majoring in GIS

Master of Applied Science (MAppSc) GIS and Master of Science (MSc) GIS

Master of Applied Science (MAppSc) GIS

Dr Antoni Moore
+64 3 479 7589
tony.moore@otago.ac.nz

NorthTec, Whangarei

Diploma in Conservation and Environmental Management - GIS course is included in this qualification

BSc of Applied Science (Biodiversity Management) - Applied GIS course is included in this qualification

Tanya Cook
tcook@northtec.ac.nz

Unitec, Auckland

Geographic Information Systems (NSCI6743)

Applied Geographic Information Systems (NSCI7736)

These courses are taken in the Bachelor of Applied Science (Biodiversity Management) and also by students of other programmes, mainly the National Diploma in Surveying

Dr Glenn Aguilar
+64 9 815-4321 Ext 7019
gaguilar@unitec.ac.nz

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology, Tauranga

BSc (Biological Sciences) - this University of Waikato degree with a GIS paper option is taught by Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology staff in Tauranga (typically to students who have completed two year Level 6 Diplomas in Marine Studies or Environmental Management who then complete a 3rd year for the Degree option)

Caroline Schweder-Goad
+64 7 5578642
caroline.schweder@toiohomai.ac.nz

Southern Institute of Technology, Invercargill

Bachelor of Environmental Management - GIS course is included in this qualification

Graduate Diploma in Environmental Management - GIS course is included in this qualification

Dr Christine Liang
+64 03 2112699 Ext 8759
christine.liang@sit.ac.nz

Te Whare Wananga o Awanuiarangi, Whakatane

Bachelor of Environment Studies - GIS paper is included in this qualification

Note: the Bachelor of Environment Studies is not being offered as a study option in 2017

Gareth Boyt
0508 926264
gareth.boyt@wananga.ac.nz

Last Updated: 4 November 2021