New Zealand tertiary GIS papers, programmes and contacts

Find New Zealand tertiary GIS papers, programmes and contacts.

Institute GIS papers / programmes Institution GIS contact
University of Auckland

Geographic Information Science - Introductory material

Links to undergraduate GIS papers below:

Geographic Information Science - Undergraduate

Geographic Information Science courses - Postgraduate

Katarzyna Sila-Nowicka
+64 9 9235930
katarzyna.sila-nowicka@auckland.ac.nz

Auckland University of Technology

Geospatial programmes/courses

Dr Barbara Bollard
+64 9 921 9999 Ext 8837
barbara.bollard@aut.ac.nz

Graham Hinchcliffe
+64 9 921 9999 Ext 8771
graham.hinchcliffe@aut.ac.nz

University of Waikato

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) - links to undergraduate and postgraduate options, including the GIS Specialisation for the Master of Social Science and the Master of Information Technology

GEOGY228: Introduction to Geographical Information Systems and Big Data

GEOGY328: Geographical Information Systems 

ENVPL309: Urban Spatial Analysis

GEOGY538: Automated Spatial Analysis using GIS

GEOGY558: Applied GIS for Research and Planning

Dr Lars Brabyn
+64 7 856 2889
larsb@waikato.ac.nz

Massey University

Postgraduate Diploma Arts (Geospatial Science)

Undergraduate courses:

233.214 GIS and Spatial Statistics (15 credits)

233.314 Remote Sensing and Earth Observation (15 credits)

145.202 Working with Geographic Data (15 credits)

145.300 Cartography and Data Visualisation (15 credits)

Postgraduate courses:

145.739 GIS Principles and Applications (30 credits)

145.740 GIS Programming and Practice (30 credits)

233.712 Environmental Geographic Information Systems (15 credits)

233.713 Environmental Remote Sensing (15 credits)

158.740 Location Systems:Spatial Databases, Tools and Applications (15 credits)

158.741 Location Data:Mapping, Analysis and Visualisation (15 credits)

Dr John Lowry (for info on PGDip)
+64 6 951 6520
j.lowry@massey.ac.nz

Dr Kristin Stock (for Geoinformatics paper)
+64 9 414 0800 ext: 43719
k.stock@massey.ac.nz

Assoc Prof Jonathan Procter (for Remote Sensing papers)
+64 6 3569099 ext: 84857
j.n.procter@massey.ac.nz

Victoria University of Wellington

Geographic Information Science (GIS) - links to undergraduate and postgraduate options

MAOR203 Mapping Whenua

Prof David O’Sullivan
+64 4 4636492, david.osullivan@vuw.ac.nz

Mairead de Roiste
+64 4 463 643
mairead.deroiste@vuw.ac.nz

Ocean Mercier
Te Kawa a Māui/School of Māori Studies
Ocean.mercier@vuw.ac.nz

University of Canterbury

At the undergraduate level, students studying Geography will take courses in GIS which may include:

Introduction to Geographic Information Systems and Science

Remote Sensing for Geospatial Analysis

Geospatial Analysis in the Social and Environmental Sciences

Web GIS and Geoinformatics

Geospatial Science in Forest Monitoring and Management

MSc in Geospatial Science and Technology

Postgraduate options include a Certificate, Diploma or Professional Masters in Geospatial Science and Technology

Students doing the Masters in Data Science can also take geospatial courses as part of their programme.

Ioannis Delikostidis
+64 3 369 4387
Ioannis.delikostidis@canterbury.ac.nz 
 

Lincoln University

Links to undergraduate GIS papers below:

ERST 202: Environmental Analysis with Geographic Information Systems

ERST 310: GIS and Applications in Natural Resource Analysis

Links to postgraduate GIS papers below:

ERST606 - Advanced GIS A

ERST607 - Advanced GIS B

Crile Doscher
+64 3 4230426
crile.doscher@lincoln.ac.nz

University of Otago

GIS Programme general information

Bachelor of Applied Science (BAppSc) majoring in GIS

Master of Applied Science (MAppSc) GIS and Master of Science (MSc) GIS

Master of Applied Science (MAppSc) GIS

Dr Antoni Moore
+64 3 479 7589
tony.moore@otago.ac.nz

NorthTec, Whangarei

BSc of Applied Science (Biodiversity Management) - Applied GIS course run in conjunction with Unitec  is included in this qualification

Dr Glenn Aguilar
+64 9 815-4321 Ext 7019
gaguilar@unitec.ac.nz

Unitec, Auckland

Geographic Information Systems (NSCI6743)

Applied Geographic Information Systems (NSCI7736)

These courses are taken in the Bachelor of Applied Science (Biodiversity Management) and also by students of other programmes, mainly the National Diploma in Surveying

Dr Glenn Aguilar
+64 9 815-4321 Ext 7019
gaguilar@unitec.ac.nz

Southern Institute of Technology, Invercargill

Bachelor of Environmental Management - GIS course is included in this qualification

Graduate Diploma in Environmental Management - GIS course is included in this qualification

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Community Course

Phil Lockett
phil.lockett@sit.ac.nz 

 

Last updated
Last updated